Potpourri

19 Sep

First of all, my chef-d’oeuvre: a New Hampshire video montage that I made for the facebook group, “I love New Hampsha”, using photos I’d saved on my comp last year to cure my nostalgia. It really is a hidden gem in this massive country of ours. In fact, most people in the rest of the country seem to think of the Northeast as one giant megalopolis, when it reality, it is mostly rural. The big coastal cities might be densely populated, but they don’t cover a tremendous area like LA does, engulfing all nature in its path as it expands. But this isn’t the place for me to rant about LA…

It does dishearten me when I have to tell someone what the six New England states are (P.S. — Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, and Connecticut). The average American’s knowledge of geography might leave something to be desired, but it’s sad when they don’t know the most well-defined region of the country, one that should be learned along with American colonial history (don’t you remember? There were the New England colonies, the Mid-Atlantic colonies, and the Southern colonies!). But maybe I’m being a little too harsh. It’s just sort of a pet peeve. Like explaining where New Hampshire is. Intelligent people can narrow it down to NH and Vermont — but yes, NH is the one with the coastline, or the one that “points up.”

Anyway, the purpose of all that was just to point out that, whatever your (mis)conceptions of a place might be, it’s always worth it to go there and see for yourself. And New England is one of those places that all Americans should visit, personal biases aside, simply because it has so much history and so much beauty in such a condensed region. And I take pride in the differences that outsiders notice about our area — no, our signs don’t say “city limits,” they say “town line.” They don’t give the population or the elevation of the town (neither of these is constant, after all), but they all indicate the year the town was settled or incorporated. Our roads don’t form square blocks. They bend around hills and follow rivers, like they do in the Mother Country.

I hope I don’t come off as elitist or anything. No place or people is ‘better’ than another. It’s just that there’s no place like home, and I want my home to be open to anyone who wants to come in. At any rate, I’ll be dealing more with geographic and cultural differences in later posts.

On to other things…apple.com trailer scouting! Every so often, I’ll check out new trailers and see what looks good. Here are some of the films I’m looking forward to in the coming months:

The Fountain

Children of Men

49 Up

Marie Antoinette

Borat

Babel

The Science of Sleep

Apocalypto

Renaissance

The Prestige

In other news, I’ll be sending in my application for study abroad at the University of Sussex within the week. Hooray for spring in England! I’ll keep you posted.

And now, I must attend to the Law and Order: SVU season premiere. In parting, I leave you with the latest poem ingrained in my memory:

Demain, dès l’aube, à l’heure où blanchit la campagne,
Je partirai. Vois-tu, je sais que tu m’attends.
J’irai par la forêt, j’irai par la montagne.
Je ne puis demeurer loin de toi plus longtemps.

Je marcherai les yeux fixés sur mes pensées,
Sans rien voir au dehors, sans entendre aucun bruit,
Seul, inconnu, le dos courbé, les mains croisées,
Triste, et le jour pour moi sera comme la nuit.

Je ne regarderai ni l’or du soir qui tombe,
Ni les voiles au loin descendant vers Harfleur,
Et quand j’arriverai, je mettrai sur ta tombe
Un bouquet de houx vert et de bruyère en fleur.

-Victor Hugo

Leave a Reply

