In brief

1 Sep

I haven’t written a truly short post since I started this blog, but I figured I would try to keep this one relatively brief since I don’t really have that much to talk about.

Back in LA. Hot. Smoggy. I seem to hate this city more and more every time I come back to it, but at least I only have (hopefully) one semester left here. I’m in the process of applying for the spring semester in Paris.

One good thing is that I’m pleasantly surprised with my apartment this year. It took me forever to find the front door because it’s not accessed through the main hallway, but rather through a somewhat obscured passageway near a seldom-used stairwell. And once you open the door, you actually enter a private entryway of sorts – très cool:

Yes, that little bench is all ours. There are even windows in our little corridor.

And the interior is fairly spacious:

However, this picture was taken before the addition of a 50″ widescreen TV. So yeah.

And yes, that is a sliding door that leads to a balcony. It overlooks the courtyard in the middle of the apartment complex:

On either side of the living room are doors leading to the bedrooms (and bathrooms). It feels nice to actually have two bathrooms this year. This one’s on my side:

Although this is actually a five-person apartment (I’m in the double bedroom), the fifth person transferred out of the apartment so there are only four of us. Of course, the guys in the triple room now pay less money than I do for a slightly bigger bedroom, but that’s ok. :p

Here’s my room:

My roommate’s a composer, in case you were wondering about the keyboard. Actually, all my flatmates are music people, which is great.

For some reason, the USC campus seems busier and more crowded than ever this year. Maybe the freshman class is really big? At any rate, peace and quiet is difficult to come by. Although I’m going to try to do some hiking this semester, probably in Griffith Park and the Santa Monica Mountains / Malibu. Whenever I have free time, of course.

I have plenty to keep me busy. My graduate course in Phonology should be enjoyable, although the graduate-level readings in optimality theory and whatnot are going to be a hassle. I do get a lot of enjoyment out of Italian class, of course, except that it’s every day from 2-3 during that post-lunch energy crash.

I have mixed feelings about my course on the syntax of Japanese. I am eager to learn Japanese (although I haven’t started using my Japanese learning software yet), but I fear the class might be a bit too abstract and theoretical for me. Syntax readings generally confuse and bore me. The professor is quite energetic and amusing, although sometimes he can talk for long periods of time without making much sense. At any rate, I think I’ll stick with it for the backup major credits and because it would be too much hassle to transfer into a new language class or something.

My fourth “class” is the Honors Thesis, but I think I’ll save discussion of that for a later post.

Grad school applications, preparing for the GRE, and working in the SLA lab just make this semester even busier. I was hoping to do JEP for the teaching experience, but I don’t think there’s any way I’ll have the time. Alas. The first week of class seemed to drag and be rather energy-draining, but here’s hoping I’ll survive ’til December.

Leave a Reply

