12 of 12 for December 2008

13 Dec

Another fascinating slice of my life.

Breakfast. A chocolate chip muffin and skim milk. Not the healthiest breakfast, but it was my first day back home after a very long and stressful semester. So I splurged a little.

Angel giving me a quizzical look. I’m not sure if she was actually confused by my taking pictures, or if she was really just hoping to get a piece of muffin. She has earned the nickname of “The Muffin Bandit” after she not-so-stealthily grabbed my brother’s muffin in her mouth off of the coffee table one morning. I feel bad about her evident arthritis and other old (12) age-related ailments (she’s lost a lot of muscle), but I think she has good genes. We got a Christmas card from her breeder, which told us that Angel’s uncle had recently passed away. He was 16.

Ahh, Christmastime. One of the absolute best times of year. I’m a bit ashamed of our fake little tree (and I miss the smell of the real kind), but after years of pine needle-covered parlor carpets, I guess my parents were fed up.

The backyard from my window. Last night, New England got hit with a devastating ice storm that left about 25% of New Hampshire’s population without power. We felt pretty lucky to still have it — most of the worst damage was south of us. Fortunately for us, the freezing rain turned into sleet and snow and we now have a shallow carpet of the white stuff.

100_2186

Watching some of the devastation on TV. Channel 9 wouldn’t come in at all, so I watched the Boston news. Deval Patrick (Governor of Massachusetts) was giving a press conference on the state of emergency. The pictures from Worcester were pretty incredible.

100_2189

As the morning fog and clouds started to break, I spotted this surreal view of the hills to the southwest, just above the condos on the southern end of Newfound Lake. That’s ice and snow covering all those trees.

100_2194

Remember what I said about splurging? I spotted one of my absolute favourite culinary delicacies in the freezer – BBQ chicken pizza – and decided to have some for lunch. I seriously would murder my first-born child for this stuff.

100_2197

Now that the clouds had cleared up, I decided to take a shot of the lake as well. I don’t like the picture very much, though. It doesn’t really capture the wildness and the desolateness of the lake on a windy, winter day that I was hoping to capture. The white crests on the blue-grey water, with the snow-covered cliffs behind… it’s a pretty amazing sight.

100_2206

In the afternoon, my dad (who was home from work due to a power outage) asked to watch my latest Netflix. Although I was quite busy working on my grad school applications, finishing my honors thesis, and preparing for my upcoming Mid-Atlantic trip (the stressful semester isn’t *quite* over), I decided to watch as well. It was a film called “Mongol,” which recounted the origins of Genghis Khan. It was actually in Mongolian and everything. I was kind of hoping it would go more into the whole empire-conquering stuff, but nonetheless it was very interesting and well-made film.

100_2198

I guess my mom’s supper was slightly healthier than my other two meals of the day, although still guiltfully tasty. Breaded haddock and some of her delicious roast potatoes. It’s nice to have some Yankee cooking again.

100_2200

Mom wrapping presents for our Madan family Christmas gathering today. I still haven’t gotten my Yankee swap gift, but I’ll probably pick it up at Wal-Mart later (most likely going to get a haircut…). I’m thinking Apples to Apples. My memory of the game was jogged by SquamLoon’s photostream. …yeah, I’m not e-stalking you or anything, LB.

100_2204

Just felt like taking a picture of my room. Boy it feels good to sleep in my bed again. Actually, that’s what I should be doing right now, but instead I’m working on a million things I should have finished ages ago (not including this post – but I knew that if I didn’t post it now, I never would). I’m heading to NYC on Sunday and then DC on Tuesday night to visit grad schools. Unfortunately, I’m gonna have to lug my laptop along with me to continue working on stuff.

5 Responses to “12 of 12 for December 2008”

  1. Megan 14 December 2008 at 13:16 #

    Your dog is purty!

    And good luck with the apps, I feel your pain!

  2. Megan 14 December 2008 at 13:17 #

    Oh and BBQ chicken pizza = NOOOOO!!!

  3. retrogaming 15 December 2008 at 02:36 #

    It’s a pretty interesting blog you’ve got here. It’s rare I stop to read blogs, especially if I just stumbled on them after looking for something else (in that case the stained glass photo led me here) but I guess the good number of pictures within each post makes the reading more appealing. I’m French, so of course some of the things you wrote about caught my attention.

  4. nrhsnews 17 December 2008 at 07:24 #

    *I love Angel’s expression.
    *Pam’s always wanted a fake tree for the same reason but I refuse to give in.
    *Don’t I remember you saying something about your house being up for sale? What amazing views yu have.
    *Either that pizza shot is highly unflattering, or you have a very low threshold for firstbornicide.
    *Something tells me I’ll never see “Mongol”.
    *Interesting computer setup your dad has—is that permanent?
    *Your mom looks like a very organized wrapper.
    *Only you would decorate your room with a Vanity Fair Star Wars spread.

  5. squamloon 17 December 2008 at 13:36 #

    *I love Angel’s expression.
    *Pam’s always wanted a fake tree for the same reason but I refuse to give in.
    *Don’t I remember you saying something about your house being up for sale? What amazing views yu have.
    *Either that pizza shot is highly unflattering, or you have a very low threshold for firstbornicide.
    *Something tells me I’ll never see “Mongol”.
    *Interesting computer setup your dad has—is that permanent?
    *Your mom looks like a very organized wrapper.
    *Only you would decorate your room with a Vanity Fair Star Wars spread.

Leave a Reply

