12 of 12 for October 2009

18 Oct

It’s been one full year since I started doing these, so I’d like to thank LB again for introducing me to the concept, and also to the dude in the blogosphere who invented it. So, without further ado…

The 12th was Canadian Thanksgiving, which I spent in America. Just to show how cyclic life is, this day strangely mirrors my previous October 12th, when I was also home for a long weekend and about to fly back to school.

Angel recently got a very short haircut, so we affectionately refer to her as a chupacabra or a goat from Darfur. I took this as she was about to do her morning duty. I guess she wanted some privacy.

My last breakfast in New Hampshire for two months had to be something good. I enjoyed the real maple syrup and the view from the dining room.

Since the weekend had been mostly cloudy, I took advantage of the clear morning on the 12th to make my standard walk up to Sunset Heights. I liked the contrast between these lovely yellow-orange trees and the blue sky. This has been an interesting foliage season — the colour arrived a bit earlier than usual, but with a more sporadic geographic distribution. Something with the cold weather and the rain this summer, I guess. Overall, the colours definitely weren’t as good as the previous two years, but still amazing by any standard.

Newfound Lake and Mt. Cardigan from the top of the hill.

I spotted the crescent moon and thought it would make for a nice composition with the red tree.

Nothing like a rainbow of leaves on a fall day in New England…

After packing my things, it was time to say goodbye to Bristol. My dad drove me to the airport in Boston – we left at 3pm for an 8pm flight, assuming that the normally 2 hour drive could be a bit longer due to the holiday traffic.

Nothing could have prepared us for this. I-93 was clogged with leaf peepers returning south; it was bumper-to-bumper traffic between Concord and Manchester. It took us an hour and a half just to go from Concord to the Hooksett tolls.

Concerned that I was going to miss my flight, I called Air Canada to see if I could get on a later one. There weren’t any other flights that night, but there was one the next morning. I asked what the price difference would be: “$975.” “Sorry?” “$975.” “…Okay, thank you then.”

We *had* to make it to the airport on time.

Fortunately, the traffic dispersed south of Manchester and we were able to cruise speedily into Boston (well, as speedily as one ever can in Boston). I snapped this shot on the awesome Zakim Bridge shortly before our arrival at Logan. We got to the airport just around 7pm; the check-in deadline was 7:10. I checked-in and got through security very quickly, so all was well.

The flight was short and enjoyable, especially because Air Canada has little touch-operated TV screens with tons of TV shows and movies you can watch (even during take-off). I watched some French travel show about Paris and an episode of Flight of the Conchords. Still, I was pretty exhausted by the time we landed in Toronto, so I wasn’t too thrilled about going through customs.

I will say that Toronto probably has the coolest, most ultra-modern aiport I’ve ever seen. This is what the baggage claim area looks like — the whole place is very space age. I collected my bag and jumped on the bus to the subway that took me home. It was only after I got back to my room that I opened my luggage and discovered that my toiletteries bag had been accidentally replaced with a woman’s pink toiletteries bag by the security screeners. My brief vacation was over, and it was back to one of the most frustrating and challenging months of my life.

2 Responses to “12 of 12 for October 2009”

  1. Megan 18 October 2009 at 02:35 #

    Any new exciting toiletries then? 😉

    I hope you’re doing well! I’ve been too sick/busy/lazy to post pictures unfortunately… but I’ll get round to it sometime!

    Now I’m longing to try some of this “real” maple syrup… I’ve never had any before!

    Miss you! Come visit!

  2. Megan 18 October 2009 at 16:01 #

    Did you just make yourself disappear off facebook? I was looking for those pictures of when you came back to LA…!

    Would you send the one of Jonathan and I over? 🙂

Leave a Reply

