12 of 12 for October 2010

12 Oct

My first 12 of 12 from my new home in Toulon, France!

DSC02463

I woke up at 6 AM with a slug on my wall. Blargh.

DSC02465

My typically small French kitchen, which I share with my two roommates (one French, one American). My breakfast is on the table.

DSC02472

When I got to the bus stop at 7 AM, the sun still wasn’t up yet.

DSC02476

Here is a view of “Le Coudon,” a mountain so-named because it supposedly resembles an elbow (un coude) in La Garde, the town where I teach. It also lends its namesake to the high school I work at.

DSC02479

On Tuesdays I only work at the middle school. The teachers’ lounge was still pretty empty when I got there at 7:45, but within 15 minutes I was whisked away to my first class. I answered an interminable number of the students’ questions about me (for the umpteenth time – I’ve had to introduce myself to a dozen different classes already).

DSC02482

I only had three classes in total, but I was surprisingly fatigued by the time I left the school. Aside from the Q&A session, I also led an entire lesson in one class (which was challenging) and worked with small groups in another (which was frustrating), all with absolutely zero preparation. I’m hoping I’ll get some advance notice in the future. Nothing in France is well-organised. (Except the strikes.)

DSC02488

I walked back through downtown La Garde to run some errands, stopping at this War Memorial. Sadly, the Tricolore is missing its red band.

DSC02498

Tuesday is market day in La Garde. I didn’t buy anything, but I enjoyed browsing. All the food is locally grown.

DSC02501

I took the bus back to my neighbourhood in Toulon, La Serinette. It’s a pretty nice residential area, but it’s not particularly close to anything.

DSC02506

Here is my bedroom, or — as I prefer to call it — my breezeway. It’s small, but it gets the job done. On my laptop screen is the interesting new season of Weeds.

DSC02509

My roommate and I walked to the neighbourhood bakery for our daily baguette. He snapped this photo of me outside the shop. Ridiculously French.

DSC02512

My fairly simple supper consisted of salad and a poêlée campagnarde. Potatoes are good.

4 Responses to “12 of 12 for October 2010”

  1. Laurie Madan 13 October 2010 at 00:38 #

    I really enjoyed this month’s 12 of 12. I look forward to hearing many stories about your teaching experiences in Toulon.

  2. Joanna 13 October 2010 at 00:45 #

    “Nothing in France is well-organised. (Except the strikes.)”

    I recently read Stephen Clarke’s super funny “A Year in the Merde”, and your sentence pretty much sums up the character’s experience in France.
    Also, you look somehow older in that picture. I guess that’s good for exerting authority in the classroom.

  3. Megan 13 October 2010 at 12:37 #

    Love your posts as usual. Can’t wait for you to visit! I’m going to take some time off work and we’ll go punting, etc!

  4. Megan 23 October 2010 at 17:27 #

    Just remembered that I can’t trust fb notifications but also don’t have an updated email address for you… do I?!

    So check your fb messages and see you tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

