12 of 12 for February 2011

16 Feb

DSC06884

I began this Saturday the 12th with a walk to the bus stop, on my way to rendezvous with another assistant.

DSC06893

Our destination was Bandol, an upscale seaside town to the west of Toulon. When we arrived, the market was in full swing, including this enticing assortment of cheeses.

DSC06898

I captured this typically French scene at a café in Bandol’s pleasant Place de la Liberté.

DSC06901

Pastel Provençal colours abound on the side streets.

DSC06904

Another shot of the market as the sun started to come out.

DSC06919

On the western edge of town we stumbled upon the Plage de Rènecros, a circular beach with bright blue water.

DSC06930

Fellow assistant Alice payed homage to the scene by making some very nice watercolours.

DSC06933

I’m not exactly sure what these are, but I’m guessing some kind of jellyfish.

DSC06938

Another of Alice’s oeuvres.

DSC06942

Waiting for the train back to Toulon.

DSC06951

Later that evening, I met up with another assistant and her French friend to see The King’s Speech (poster on the far right) in version originale (non-dubbed). A very good film indeed.

DSC06953

After the movie, my friends and I headed across the street to Mezzo, a fast food pasta place that I’d never been to before. A bit more pricey than I’d expect, but a very tasty way to end the day.

Leave a Reply

